5. Mozambique

Situated in southeast Africa, the Republic of Mozambique had nearly five hundred years as a Portuguese colony, and gained independence in 1975. After a long civil war, a peace agreement was negotiated in 1992. The country has an area of 812,379 square kilometers, shares borders with seven countries including South Africa and a population of about 22.9 million. Mozambique is one of the major Lusophone countries (countries where Portuguese language is spoken). A census conducted in 2007 revealed that 56.1% of the population is Christian, with 17.9% being Muslims. The influences of Portuguese culture are evident in the music and dancing of Mozambique and are mainly related to religious and social practices.