4. Equatorial Guinea

The Republic Equatorial Guinea occupies an area of 28,000 square kilometers in mid-Africa. Although one of the smallest countries in Africa it is one of the richest, though restricted per capita, with a population of about 650,702, of which 93% are Christians. Becoming a Portuguese colony in 1474, Equatorial Guinea was ceded by treaty to Spain in 1778 in exchange for the South American territory of Sacramento. Most Portuguese culture and customs have been neglected with Equatorial Guinea consistently having one of the worst records of human rights. The official language is Spanish with French and Portuguese, but most of the ethnic groups communicate in the tongue referred to as β€œBantu”. Some ancient customs, such as the rituals of the Abira remain.